BARMM awards best functional LGUs in the autonomous region, launches ‘Salamat Award’



The Bangsamoro government has granted some 118 Local Government Units (LGU) in the autonomous region with awards and incentives for their excellent performance for the year 2020.

At the same time on Friday, Dec. 18, it also launched the ‘Salamat Excellence Award for Leadership (SEAL) at the Shariff Kabunsuan Cultural Complex here,

The 118 LGUs were awarded with the Local Government Functional Appraisal Award (LoGFA) and Lupon Tagapamayapa Incentive Award (LTIA) for excellent performance.

Salamat Award

Lawyer Naguib Sinarimbo, MILG Minister on Monday said the ‘Salamat Award’ is designed to recognize performing Local Chief Executives (LCEs) in the BARMM. It is the most prestigious award that the region would undertake to recognize LCEs who show excellent performance, he added.

“The award is named after Salamat Hashim, the founding chair of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), whose quality of leadership is astounding,” said Sinarimbo added.

The SEAL Program aims to contribute in the establishment of a Moral Governance in the BARMM by popularizing the principle of volunteerism and primary common good as demonstrated by Sheikh Salamat Hashim as key to regional peace and development.

Sinarimbo said it would also encourage local chief executives and leaders to embrace the principles of accountability, participatory and service-oriented leadership as key to local development; and instil in the heart and mind of leaders and communities the culture of patriotism and promotion of social responsibility

Awarding ceremony for SEAL will be held next year where each awardee will be given plaque of recognition, gold plated medallion worth 250,000 and 2.5 million worth of project.


51 LGUs from the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi were awarded with the LoGFA, and each received P200,000 and a plaque of recognition. 

Sinarimbo said LoGFA aims to define, operationalize, and assess the functionality of LGUs in the region.

On the other hand, eight barangays bagged the LTIA where the champion received P125,000, first place with P100,000, and P75,000 for the second placer.

For the 4th-6th class category, Brgy. Kauran in Ampatuan, Maguindanao was declared as champion. First and second places were awarded, respectively, to Brgy. Mao in Datu Abdullah Sangki of the same province and to Brgy. Pindolonan in Buadiposo Bunting, Lanao del Sur.

For the 1st-3rd class category, the champion was Brgy. Rempes in Upi, Maguindanao, 1st and 2nd placers were Brgy. Cebuano Group in Wao, Lanao del Sur and Brgy. Tumahubong in Sumisip, Basilan.

Brgy. Tumbras in Midsayap, North Cotabato received P125,0000 under the special geographic area category, while Brgy. Limo-ok in Lamitan City, Basilan also received the same prize under the city category.

Furthermore, P20,000 was also given each to 10 barangays from the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, and the city of Lamitan for being regional finalists.

“This aims to recognize functional local governments and barangays whose ‘Lupon Tagapamayapa’ have excelled in settling disputes in their communities,” Sinarimbo added.

Special Anti-Drug Abuse Council Awards were also given to LGUs who sustained drug-cleared status of their drug-affected barangays and for maintaining a drug-free status of their unaffected barangays.

Forty-nine BARMM municipalities received the said award—25 awardees for sustaining drug cleared status of their drug-affected barangays, and 24 for maintaining a drug free status for their unaffected barangays. JULMUNIR I. JANNARAL

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s