PMT editors elected in Bangsamoro Press Corps

By Muslimedia.PH

IFTAR WITH MINISTER SINARIMBO. Some BPC elected officers pose with MILG-BARMM Minister Naguib Sinarimbo after his family hosted an iftar in Cotabato City on April 17. (AGM)


Mindanao-based journalists have formed the Bangsamoro Press Corps (BPC) to professionalize ranks and provide better reportage of the two-year old new autonomous region, electing two editors of the Philippine Muslim Today (PMT) news as pioneer officers.

PMT News Editor Ali G. Macabalang and Editor-in-Chief Masiding Noor Yahya were elected president and member of the Board of Directors (representing Lanao del Sur), respectively, at the BPC organizational meeting attended here on April 17 by 65 media workers covering the operations of the two-year old Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Macabalang led his fellow elected BPC officers and members in thanking the Rapid Emergency Action on Disaster Incidence (READI), a unit of the autonomous government under the supervision of BARMM spokesman and Local Government Minister Naguib Sinarimbo, for facilitating the BPC preliminary meeting and the election event.

On different occasions, Macabalang had advocated the need for the formation of a press corps among local media workers to professionalize ranks, promote their economy and security welfare, and at the same time harmonize their efforts in providing comprehensive reportage of the BARMM bureaucracy and parliament.

The BARMM governance has been formally established on March 29, 2019 under R.A. 11054 in pursuit of two major peace accords forged by the government in 2013 and 2014 with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), replacing the 29-year old Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

“We see a sort of disparity between the BARMM prospects for the betterment of its constituents and the realities in the ground. This is a challenge for us concerned media practitioners to narrow down the gap,” said Macabalang, who had served as founding executive director of the defunct ARMM’s Bureau of Public Information (1994-1977 & 2010-2012).

“Field journalists also need to fostering stronger bonding to address sad economic of journalism, preserve dignity in media profession, and fight threats against free press,” Macabalang added, hinting at risks in local media that peaked in the infamous Nov. 23, 2009 “Maguindanao massacre” of 57 people, 32 of them journalists.

Maguindanao belongs to the BARMM, so with the provinces of Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Marawi and Lamitan and 63 villages in North Cotabato.

In the evening of April 17, Minister Sinarimbo hosted an iftar (Ramadan dinner) for the newly elected BPC officers and members.

Sinarimbo had once assured that the new autonomous governance will not allow intimidations against media workers covering the region, saying “we will come to the rescue of journalists facing professional threats.”

Also elected were BPC four vice presidents: John Unson (print); Erwin Cabilbigan (radio); Benny Queman (TV); Edwin Fernandez (online/multi-media); and Ferdinandh Cabrera (PhotoJournalism).

Local broadcasters Ella Dayawan, Dennis Arcon, Sam Sali, Nhur Gayak, and Michael Suan were elected treasurer, auditor, business managers; and P.R.O., respectively. READI’s Valerie Lambo was appointed secretary.

Other Elected Board of Directors were Bruce Matabalao, chairman (Cotabato City); Nash Maulana (Maguindanao); Bert Digamon Jr. (North Cotabato); Fidencio Yu Castro, Jr. (SOCCSKSARGEN); Dhen Kadatuan (Muslim sector); Charlie Señase (Christian sector); Daisy Mangod (IP sector); Lacks Dama (BCOBAR); and Abduljaman Damahan (Basilan). The slots for Sulu and Tawi-Tawi will be filled up later. Muslimedia.PH

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s